Book Rave: The Sharper Your Knife, The Less You Cry

The Sharper Your Knife, The Less You Cry

Imagine my excitement when I picked up a book about a thirty-something woman who traded in her 9-to-5 to go to cooking school. Though her story bears some similarity to my own, Kathleen Flinn definitely upped the glam factor by enrolling in Le Cordon Bleu in Paris. (Can you say, “ooh la la!?”)  Her book invites readers to tag along as she relocates from London to Paris, nourishes a budding romance and learns the intricacies of classic French cuisine. Her tales are funny and heartfelt and are topped off with recipes to make your mouth water.

I finished the book inspired to get back to the cooking I learned in school, but later set aside for the what-can-I-make-for-dinner-in-20-minutes fare that frequently graces my dinner table. For this weekend’s Easter dinner, I’ll be deboning a bird and stuffing it with…well, I don’t know what I’ll be stuffing it with, but I assure you it will be something French and delicious. Pick up the book if you’re looking for your next great read.

Merci, mon amie Monica pour le livre!

1 Comment

Filed under Blue Plate Special

One response to “Book Rave: The Sharper Your Knife, The Less You Cry

  1. I’m so excited that you made a comment on Kat’s book ( i know i write as if i know her, but in a way thanks to her book i feel i do haha).

    I sent her an email after reading her book and she actually replied.. I have it always on Staff Recommends bay of the bookstore I work for.

    I can’t wait to see what other cooking writing books you recommend =)

Leave a Reply

