Lazy Chef’s Lunch

Lazy Chef's LunchWhen people learn that I cook for a living, one of the first questions they often pose is, “I bet you make great food at home ALL the time, right?” In the pause that follows, I think of how disappointing the truth will be for them and I consider fibbing — I hate to disappoint. And the last thing my guilty-because-I-work-too-much-and-my-kid-will-surely-be-irreparably-damaged-because-I’m-not-always-there-to-pour-her-orange juice-mom complex wants is to own up to the fact that on busy days, Apple Dippers thrown from the McDonald’s drive-thru window are the only fruit in my daughter’s diet.

But when it comes down to it, I always tell the truth. I cook two or three times a week (not including Cereal for Dinner Nights) and we eat our fair share (ok, probably more than our fair share) of fast food. But everybody’s healthy, happy and I’m convinced my daughter’s the smartest person in our house. (She’s still young enough to think I’m too cool for school.) Life may not be perfect, but it’s darn good and I’m kicking my lazy chef guilt to the curb!

The last non-work-related food I prepared was a sandwich! I stuffed two slices of whole wheat bread with turkey, spinach, tomato, bacon, avocado and a generous schmear of mayo (and no, it wasn’t the fat-free, calorie-free, taste-free kind). I completed my meal with a handful of Sour Cream & Onion Pringles. 

Haute cuisine? I think not, but not bad for a lazy chef on her day off.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

