The Spice(s) of Life…Literally

Seven Super SpicesYou can’t read a health magazine, newspaper or see a television ad without hearing about the power of antioxidants and the many health benefits they have to offer, from preventing disease to slowing down the aging process. Fresh fruits and vegetables are best known for their high antioxidant content, but I was surprised – and I bet you will be, too – to find that I had a pantry full of antioxidant-packed items that I use each time I cook – spices.

 

Over the weekend I styled a tv segment featuring Dr. Wendy Bazilian, whose book “The Super Foods Rx Diet – Lose Weight with the Power of Super Nutrients” explains how you can eat healthier without sacrificing taste. Dr. Wendy’s interview, which aired on Sunday morning on WBAL in Baltimore, featured seven McCormick Spices that are jam-packed with antioxidants. Who knew? I certainly didn’t.

 

Apparently, the seven super spices – cinnamon, ginger, oregano, red pepper, rosemary, thyme and yellow curry – have enough antioxidants to rival fresh fruits and berries. Seriously, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon has as many antioxidants as ½ cup of fresh blueberries! So, feel good about spicing up your food.

 

Learn more at http://www.mccormick.com/SpicesForHealth.aspx.

1 Comment

Filed under Blue Plate Special

One response to “The Spice(s) of Life…Literally

  1. This is great, Danielle. I had no idea! So next time I am depressed that there’s no local fresh fruits and veggies yet, I’ll reconsider my spice cabinet.

Leave a Reply

