The Butter Incident…

My Kid in SnowI took full advantage of yesterday’s snow day by cooking, literally cooking…all…day. No curling up on the couch with a good book while a fire roared in the fireplace. I spent most of my day in the kitchen, except for when I was outside helping my husband shovel and pulling my daughter out of mounds of snow that she insisted on climbing. (What’s cuter than a five-year-old in a hot pink snowsuit up to her thighs in snow?)

 

I was most excited to use the last of my white chocolate chips in a chocolate cookie that when topped with a scoop of ice cream and yet another cookie makes the perfect ice cream cookie sandwich. I can’t remember where I found this recipe years ago – I’m guessing it’s one of the zillions of recipe sites I have perused over the years – but it makes a great cookie.

 

The recipe is quite simple, nothing fancy, no tricks up its sleeve; I could make them with my eyes closed and one hand tied behind my back. So imagine my surprise when I pulled my cookie sheets from the oven to find that they had spread out so thin (like wafers) and had melted into each other. What the &*#&*(?I read and re-read and re-read the recipe trying to figure out where I’d gone wrong when I realized that my greed had finally gotten the best of me.

 

The original recipe makes about 10 cookies, enough for five ice cream sandwiches, but since I figured I could eat five all by myself and that I ought to share with the rest of my family, I doubled the recipe….I doubled all of the ingredients, except for the butter, which I quadrupled. There are a couple of lessons to be learned from this experience.

 

First, we’ve learned how butter can affect a cookie. Adding more butter will to a cookie recipe will produce a thinner, crisper cookie. When the butter in your batter (say that three times fast) melts in the oven, that’s what causes your cookies to spread. The more butter, the more spread.

 

Secondly, it pays to pay attention! Apparently I can make these cookies with my eyes closed and one hand tied behind my back, so long as that’s all I’m doing. Yesterday in an obviously failed attempt to multi-task I tried making these cookies while I started dinner, made hot cocoa for my kid and wrote out a shopping list. Lesson learned.

 More Cookie-Covered Ice Cream Truffles

With my hopes of enjoying the tasty ice cream cookie sandwich I’d been craving dashed, I had to figure out something to do with my flat and crispy cookies. Since they crumbled easily, I put the cookie pieces on a cutting board and rolled scoops of ice cream in them, pressing gently so the crumbs would adhere. I popped the cookie-covered ice cream scoops back in the fridge for a few minutes and voila; I had Cookie-Covered Ice Cream Truffles, a delectable, almost bite-sized ice cream treat. And that’s the way the cookie crumbles…

Nice save, if I say so myself.

 

Ice Cream Cookie Sandwiches

¼ cup unsalted butter

¼ cup light brown sugar

1/8 cup sugar

1 large egg

½ teaspoon vanilla

½ cup flour

1/8 cup Dutch-processed cocoa powder

¼ teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

pinch salt

¾ cups coarsely chopped white chocolate

Vanilla Ice Cream or ice cream of choice

  

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

 

Mix the butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla extract and mix until incorporated. In a medium bowl, mix together the cocoa powder, flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and then gradually add to the butter and egg mixture. Mix just until incorporated. Fold in the white chocolate.

 

Drop the batter onto the prepared baking sheet, using either a 1 1/2 – 2 inch ice cream scoop or with a rounded tablespoon. Flatten the rounded mounds of dough slightly with your hands. Bake for approximately 8 – 10 minutes or until the cookies are still soft in the center but are firm around the edges. Remove from oven and let cookies cool on baking sheet for a few minutes before removing the cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

Makes about 10 – 4 inch cookies.

 

For Ice Cream Sandwiches: Take two chocolate cookies and place a scoop of your favorite ice cream between the two cookies. Gently press together and serve

 

Serves 4-5.

 

Recipe courtesy of an unknown website I visited years ago.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

