This May Make the Other Cookies Jealous!

My New Favorite Chocolate Chip CookieIn my house, chocolate chip cookies are the Original Cookie; the cookie to which all other cookies are compared. Don’t get me wrong; we enjoy the occasional oatmeal-toffee diversion or white chocolate-dipped molasses cookie during the holiday season, but when my 5-year-old or my husband asks for a cookie, I know exactly what they mean – a chocolate chip cookie made from the recipe on the back of the Nestle Tollhouse Semisweet Chocolate Chip bag.

 

I know, I know. There are hundreds, probably thousands of other delicious recipes I could try, and I’ve tried a lot of them, but no other recipe has given me The Taste – that warm, familiar, insanely addictive and oddly comforting taste that only the Tollhouse recipe can produce.  Or so I thought.

 

I recently tried the Thick & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe on my friend, Jaime’s Good Eats ‘n Sweet Treats blog, (http://www.goodeatsblog.com/2008/08/best-chocolate-chip-cookies-my-new.html). The result, a shift in the foundation of my family’s palate, a shift of seismic proportions. Houston, we have a new favorite chocolate chip cookie!

 

The cookies are thick (obviously), chewy (again, obviously) and delicious. I was especially intrigued by Jaime’s instruction on how to form the batter to get a taller cookie.

 

Give these cookies a try, but also check out the Good Eats blog for a variety of cool recipes and great pictures.

 

Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “This May Make the Other Cookies Jealous!

  1. Wow! It must have taken quite a Road to Damascus moment to create such a shift! I love Tollhouse cookies, too, but I wandered over to Good Eats & Sweets on your recommendation to see the Secret of Forming These Cookies. Awesome. I will now shamelessly adopt this method!

    And thank you for stopping by my blog. I appreciated your comment. I think I’ll try Cointreau-soaked golden raisins next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

